How to love (your job?)

Just do what you love, and you’ll never work a day in your life

When I first started working at a local supply store, there was a time when I was really hesitant to think about what I was getting into. I had just finished working two years at the best type of job I could ask for: Doing what I love to do! Now I was settling, due to various factors, on a part-time job that would pay less, feel less rewarding (I assumed) and leave me and my wife more broke than ever. But upon prayerful reflection, I decided that I wasn’t going to just settle at the job I settled for. That, if i was going to be there, I was going to be there. It was work. It still is. but I found it much easier to live through, tried to do a good job. I worked, not harder than those who work really hard jobs. I have really hard jobs and this was NOT that. but I made an effort to get into it, nonetheless.

Then, late in the morning, I had to help out the “stocking guy” put away some merchandise. This guy, like others, got by at work by complaining about work (brilliant plan! right?). I was up and down the ladder stocking items, just trying to work like it was something worth doing, while chatting with him about, TV shows, and music, and football; though, to that last topic, I mostly listened and nodded. Then, out of nowhere he asked me this strange question, half-sarcastically: “So, do you LIKE stocking, or something?” I had to pause. I didn’t know how to respond. “uh, of course not.” was the first thing to pop into my head. But the truth is. It was a much better job than I thought. I was growing to like it. strange.

You hear that love is a verb all the time. It is the mantra of working marriages everywhere. If you love your spouse, then love (verb) your spouse. right? I wonder why we never apply it to situations and jobs that we don’t want to be in. I think it’s true though, that if you want a job that you’ll love. then, start by loving (verb) your job. It seems to me that, by putting care, attention and value into something, It becomes something that we care for, attend to, and value. huh.

I’m not saying I am content to work a minimum wage job, putting boxes on shelves and selling rubber bands for the rest of my life. I have dreams. I am working towards them right now. but it just seems like this life is better if you love it a little.

They say, “Do what you love and you’ll never work a day in your life.”

That may be true in some ways. But if you just look for work that makes you happy, I’m not convinced you’ll find it. People who search for happiness everywhere, rarely find it anywhere. so, I say, instead of “Do what you love”, love what you do and you still be working. And it will still feel like work. But a little happiness may just sneak up on you in the most unlikely places.

3 thoughts on “How to love (your job?)”

Leave a Reply

