Friday Fives. My Favorite Posts of the Week!

This is something new I’d like to try. I’m going to take the five best blog posts I read this week, and pass them on to you! So, far this is a one time thing, but if you guys like it. I may make it a regular feature, so let me know!

Ok, here we go. (these are in no particular order by the way)

1. Seth Godin made this great (and rather long) list of ways that people succeed. I found myself on it, as well as most of my friends. Do you see yourself here? Is it good news or not?

If you aren’t on there, here is a list of what people that fail do.. I’m on that one too. Are you?

2. Pastor Gene Oden, at Crossroads Church wrote this letter to a guy who spammed his (physical) inbox. This was really insightful, and makes me really think about the value of making your work personal, verses hiding behind facts and anonymity. It also make she wonder about guys who use pen names…

Actions speak louder than words.  While it certainly may not be true, your anonymity is shouting that you do not possess the courage of the convictions you write about.

3. I re-blogged this one earlier in the week, but it is still is one of my favorite posts this week: It’s an interview with an author about how and why she became a writer. Whether you are a dabbling writer or a published novelist, this is some really helpful and reassuring stuff.

 “It takes a certain amount of will and courage to leave with regularity the circle of humanity in order to enact a kind of theft, which is one aspect of what the writing life seems to be. If we steal in the right way—from ourselves and the world—we may fashion (and be rewarded with) a gift. I love the ecology of writing, the way it turns nothing into something, generally without too much damage to the environment.”

4. Erica over at ‘Daily Post’ did a piece on how boredom fuels creativity. Not, that I really know what boredom is nowadays. Who does? but it is a great article that gets me looking for more bored moments in my life.

“Whether it is poetry or prose, I experienced the same familiar pattern: once it’s just me and the blank screen/page, a wave of boredom rises up to meet me. I feel the urge to go somewhere – anywhere – to get away. And I let the wave wash over me. I accept I am bored, that boredom is part of the process – and I trust that if I sit here long enough, it will subside, and reveal a flicker of curiosity.”

5.Finally we have not just a blog post, but a really cool video, too! Posted by Will at My House Media, It is a look at the right side of our brain – as experienced by a stroke victim, who only had use of the the right side of our brain. What it implies about creativity, logic, and just the overall human condition is amazing!

“The reason we are so affected emotionally by certain paintings, music, and stories is that, in those cases, the creator has put themselves aside, just enough to truly express themselves in essence.”

Let me know your opinion on a post like this! if readers like it, it may be a good way to end the week. Thanks!

One thought on “Friday Fives. My Favorite Posts of the Week!”

Leave a Reply

