Random Nerd Post- Superman’s Movie Suit

Man of Steel costume comics nanotech

Over the past week my blog has looked a little bare. It doesn’t mean I haven’t been writing. I promise I have. I have about 5 ideas burning ink right now that just aren’t done. Since they are too important to just haphazardly throw into the blogosphere, here is a random post about something that has no importance in real life but is something nerds across the globe are thinking about as we approach the launch of the finally rebooted Superman movie-verse. Here, I am going to make my opinion clear before the movie even comes out. (Scary thing to do, I know.) Here it is:

I think that the new Superman suit in the movie SHOULD be made of Kryptonian nanotech like it is in the current comic books.

Oh boy… I already feel the wrath. Let me explain myself. But first, this is what I mean for those of you who don’t read the comics:super-change

Basically, when DC Comics relaunched almost two years ago. The red underwear wasn’t the only thing to change about Superman costume–I mean suit. Suit sounds so much more legit–To the dismay of many longtime readers, the suit was no longer hidden under his clothes, but was made of a microscopic technology that grew the suit over his body when he needed it.

Even though it seems like a huge break from the traditional shirt-rip, jump into phone booth scene many grew up with, it makes sense if you follow the bread crumbs of plot holes that were 73 years past due along with some new ones. Here they were

1. If his suit is “traditional Kryptonian ceremonial armor” (key word being armor) Why is it spandex and undies? FIX- it’s actual armor now! Cool.

2. If it’s armor now, how does Clark possibly hide it under his clothes? For years, people have poked at how he could hide his cape and boots under his clothes, but now there’s no hiding from the issue. FIX- Nanotech! Kryptonians were far advanced, almost to the point of gods, beyond us. Why would they “dress” in a traditional sense? Why not have microscopic robotic tissue that grows around you to a perfect fit, as well as changes color based on your dna and family heritage. based on your DNA. Neat.

Now, if it isn’t already obvious. Those are my main reasons for why it would work so well in the movie. Can you imagine seeing Clark pull his shirt open to reveal a thick rubber suit of body armor hiding under his clothes the whole time? Yikes. Here is the problem with writing this before the movie. If Christopher Nolan keeps it classic just makes it a suit that Superman puts on, I will understand why he did. Possibly, the outrage would have been too much. Superman fans have history of being really heavy traditionalist, even though, if we are honest, the original Superman from the late 30s didn’t even fly. Plus, as a director you have to deal with the fact that even non-Superman fans and non-comic readers know the old Supes didn’t have a nanite suit. But if he does go with it, I say Bravo! If for nothing more than for having the guts to bring the movie version into the present with the comics. It think it would be a bold move. but a right one. I just hope that if he does it, no ones will accuse him of not caring about the tradition of Superman. Here is what Christopher Nolan said about the decision to get rid of the red briefs. Another move I agree with, if for no other reason than it pulls Superman forward into present day comics.

“The costume was a big deal for me, and we played around for a long time. I tried like crazy to keep the red briefs on him. Everyone else said, ‘You can’t have the briefs on him.’ I looked at probably 1,500 versions of the costumes with the briefs on. If you look at the costume, it’s very modern, but the relationship to the original costume is strong. You come onto a project like this, and you hear about modernization and you hear about bringing things forward to today, and all you can do is hope that it’s going to look cool and different from anything you’ve seen before.” -Christopher Nolan

That’s my two cents. Now we wait and see.

 

Leave a Reply

